The Great Conversation: Introduction and The Apology

 

Image

“It’s the greatest good for a man to discuss virtue everyday . . . on the grounds that the unexamined life isn’t worth living for a human being.” -Socrates

 My friend Peter and I have decided to read through the Great Books. We are on the ten-year reading plan. If I am still blogging then and you are still following me, we will have to throw a party.

For each book I will write a reflection of an interesting idea. This is not a book report or all-inclusive summary. It is just a glimpse into an idea that is worth chewing on. The first book, Plato’s “Apology” is about the trail of Socrates, an ancient philosopher from Athens, Greece. Socrates is charged with corrupting the youth and denying the gods. For this he is eventually given the death sentence. Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“I’ll never fear or avoid things that may for all I know be good more than things I know are bad.”

“As long as I draw breath and am able, I won’t give up practicing philosophy, exhorting you and also showing the way to any of you….[A]re you not ashamed that you take care to acquire as much wealth as possible—and reputation and honor—but that about wisdom and truth, about how your soul may be in the best condition, you take neither care nor thought?”

 “It’s the greatest good for a man to discuss virtue everyday . . . on the grounds that the unexamined life isn’t worth living for a human being. “

“The difficult thing isn’t escaping death, escaping villainy is much more difficult since it runs faster than death.”

“But now it’s time to leave, I to die and you to live. Which of us goes to the better thing, however, is unclear to everyone except the god.”

This last quote closes the book. I like that Socrates who is facing death, leaves everyone with a question. Which of us goes to the better thing? I can almost feel the jurors squirming in their chairs. It is an unfair question, because Socrates allows on the god to decide. Yet that may be Socrates final revenge and gift to Athens: to make them question if they have done the better thing.

 For the Athenians it seemed the question really meant a choice: either choose a life draped in lies or towards death by relentlessly seeking truth. Which is better?

Have you settled to accept half-truths and lies for convenience? Would you kill to protect that life? Athens did. 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment